Special Collections and University Archives Resources for APS1704: People, Social Life, Customs, & Community (incl. religion)

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 9am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
X: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

• Appalachia Heritage Cookbook, 1984. Call Number TX 715 A6246 1984a Spec Large
• The Appalachian South. v.1, no. 1- v.1, no.2 in Special Collections; additional holdings available from the Library Service Center. Call Number: F 210 A6 Spec Large and Library Service Center
• At Home in the Web of Life: A Pastoral Message on Sustainable Communities in Appalachia Celebrating the 20th Anniversary of This land is Home to Me/from the Catholic bishops of Appalachia, 1995. Call Number: BX 2347.8 P66 A8 1996 Spec Large
• Bial, Raymond. Mist Over the Mountains: Appalachia and Its People, 1997. Call Number: F 217 A65 B53 1997 Spec Large
• Campbell, Robert F. Mission Work Among the Mountain Whites in Asheville Presbytery, North Carolina, 1899. Call Number: F 210 C3 Spec Large
• Carolina's Hunting Heritage, 1978. Call Number: SK 125 C37 Spec Large
• Craig, Edward. Highways and Byways of Appalachia: A Study of the Work of the Synod of Appalachia of the Presbyterian Church in the United States, 1927. Call Number: BX 8967 A6 C7 Spec Small
• Dickenson, Richard B. Entitled: Free Papers in Appalachia Concerning Antebellum Freeborn Negroes and Emancipated Blacks of Montgomery County, Virginia, 1981. Call Number: F 232 M7 D5 1981 Spec Genealogy and Newman 3rd floor
• Encyclopedia of Appalachia, 2006. Call Number: F 106 E53 2006 Spec Large
• Sharp, Cecil J. English Folk Songs from the Southern Appalachians, 1966. Reprint of 1932 edition. Call Number: M 1629 S53 E6 1966 Newman 3rd floor
• ---. English Folk Songs from the Southern Appalachians, 1952. 2nd and enlarged edition. Call Number: M 1629 S53 1952 v.1-2 Spec Large
• The Star of Bethlehem: A Collection of Church-Tunes, Anthems, Choruses and Glees with Rudiments and Exercises for Singing-Schools, 1889. Call Number: M 2117 S82 1889 Spec Large
• Webb, Jim. Sketches of Hunting Pouches, Powder Horns and Accoutrements of Southern Appalachia, 1990. Call Number: SK 274.45 W42 1990 Spec Large 
• Withoft, Mabel. Oak and Laurel: A Study of the Mountain Mission Schools of Southern Baptists, 1923. Call Number: BV 25230 W5 1923 Spec Small

• Appalachian Student Organizing Committee Collection, 1964-1975 (RG31/14/10). Finding aid available online. 
• Bishop William H. Marmion Papers, 1932-1981 (Ms1986-013). Finding aid available online.
• Earl Palmer Appalachian Photograph and Artifact Collection 1880-1989 (Ms1989-025). Finding aid available online. Many photographs from the collection have been digitized and are available online.
• Episcopal Diocese of Southwestern Virginia Papers, 1905-1990 (Ms1985-004). Finding aid available online. 
• Episcopal Diocese of Southwestern Virginia Records II, 1913-1967, n.d. (Ms2011-018). Finding aid available online. 
• Harris Mountain Schools Collection 1913-1961 (Ms1961-001). Finding aid available online. 
• League of Women Voters of Montgomery County, Virginia Records, 1961-2001 (Ms1997-016). Finding aid available online.
• Yellow Sulphur Springs Sale Broadside, 1943 (Ms2009-106). Finding aid available online. 
• Yellow Sulphur Springs Hotel Account Book, 1887-1895 (Ms1940-033). Finding aid available online.