Research Guides: Special Collections and University Archives Resources for APS1704: Economics, Education, Housing, & Transportation

Books

Dulaney, Ben. An Economic and Social Survey of Washington County, 1932. Call Number: HC 107 V8 V8 no.17 Spec Large and Newman 3rd floor
Encyclopedia of Appalachia, 2006. Call Number: F 106 E53 2006 Spec Large
Industrial Opportunities in the Land of Plenty: Served by the Norfolk & Western Railway, 195-? Call Number: HC 107 V8 N6 1950 Spec Large
Kennedy, Ralph. An Economic and Social Survey of Wise County, 1928. HC 107 V8 V8 no.11 Spec Large and Newman 3rd floor
Lilienthan, David. TVA: Democracy on the March, 1944. Call Number: TK 1425 M8 L53 Spec Large and Newman 5th floor
Norfolk and Western Railroad Company (later Norfolk and Western Railway Company). Annual Reports (incomplete holdings from 1882-1965. Call Number HE 2791 N8122 and HE 2791 N8123 Spec Large
Pavlick, Anthony. Quality of Rural and Urban Housing in the Appalachian Region, 1964. Call Number: HD 1751 A47 no.52 Spec Large
Snidow, Francis. An Economic and Social Survey of Giles County, 1927. HC 107 V8 V8 no.8 Spec Genealogy and Newman 3rd floor
Stuart, Robert C. The People and Economy of the Abingdon Area, 1948. Call Number: HC 108 A2 S8 Spec Large
Study of High School Dropouts in Appalachia, 1985. Call Number: LC 144 A127 S89 1985 Spec Large
Van Zandt, G. C. Coal and the Norfolk and Western Railway, 1996. Call Number: TN 805 Z6 N67 1996 Spec Large
When the Trains Came to Norton, Wise County, in Old Virginia in 1891, 1941. Call Number F 2334 W86 W64 1941 Spec Large
Withoft, Mabel. Oak and Laurel: A Study of the Mountain Mission Schools of Southern Baptists, 1923. Call Number: BV 25230 W5 1923 Spec Small

Manuscript Collections

Appalachian Regional Commission Teaching Project Records, 2001-2006 (Ms2011-041).
Appalachian Student Organizing Committee Collection, 1964-1975 (RG31/14/10).
Crown Cotton Mills [Dalton, Georgia] Oral History Tapes, 1984-1985 (Ms1988-023).
Earl Palmer Appalachian Photograph and Artifact Collection 1880-1989 (Ms1989-025). Many photographs from the collection have been digitized and are available online.
Harris Mountain Schools Collection 1913-1961 (Ms1961-001).
Industrial Education Association for Southern Mountaineers Collection, 1930, 1936, n.d. (Ms2011-059).
Montgomery Female College Collection, 1875-1892 (Ms2009-013).
Norfolk & Western Railway and Associated Companies Collection, 1851-1978 (Ms2009-037).
Schoolmaster's Journal, 1846 (Ms1990-010).

Photographs and Other Multimedia

Photographs from the Historical Photograph Collection (List of Subjects), 1890s-present.
Postcards from Appalachia, 1901-1941 (Ms2015-032). Selected postcards have been digitized and are available online.
Preston Leech Glass Slides and Cassette Tape, c.1900-1925, 1994 (Ms1994-003).
Virginian Railway Photographs, 1945-1959, undated (Ms2013-015).