Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and University Archives Resources for APS1704: Books, Manuscripts, & Maps in Special Collections and University Archives

Resources for APS1704 at Virginia Tech Special Collections and online through Virginia Tech and other institutions.

About Special Collections and University Archives

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

Books

Locating books in Special Collections and University Archives that relate to aspects of (public) humanities, culture, and other topics depends on a few factors and may take multiple searches. We recommend using the librarys catalog. If you have having trouble generating search terms, try some of the tools listed in the "Additional Guides & Search Tools" section.

A few tips:

  • Limiting your search to Special Collections and University Archives will ONLY include materials housed within the department (books, manuscript collections, and media). You can do this by going to "Advanced Seach," selecting "Item Type," and checking the boxes for "SPEC material rstor" and "Spec in-house." This will find materials that are part of Special Collections housed in our off-site facility and in the department, respectively.
  • A general search will find materials in Special Collections and University Archives, in Newman Library, the Art & Architecture Library, and the Library Service Centers (off-site materials which can be requested). It will NOT include E-books and databases (use the main search box on the library's webpage that includes the discovery system).
  • Catalog records, by nature, contain a mix of subjective and object elements. Subject headings are authoritative and control, but are applied to a record by an individual who may interpret an item in a specific way. Don't be afraid to explore different words or headings.

If you are having trouble searching, we encourage you to contact Special Collections and University Archives (specref@vt.edu or 231-6308) or come by when we're open (M-F 8am-5pm) and our staff will be happy to lend a hand!

Manuscripts

Special Collections and University Archives is home to more than 1,900 manuscript collections, many of which deal with aspects of Appalachian culture. Finding aids (collection guides) for processed manuscript collections are available through Virginia Heritage, a state-wide database. The general search page is here: http://ead.lib.virginia.edu/vivaxtf/search. You can limit your search to "Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University." Searching all collections will do a full-text search of all guides.

We have specifically identified more than 570 of our guides which relate to local/regional/Appalachian history, which you can browse online. You can also limit these results using facets or search within this results list for a specific word, words, or phrase. 

We also have unprocessed collections and collections with limited descriptions. If you are having trouble locating relevant materials we encourage you to contact Special Collections and University Archives (specref@vt.edu or 231-6308) or come by when we're open (M-F 8am-5pm) and our staff will be happy to lend a hand!

Digitized Materials

Maps

Special Collections and University Archives is home to a historical map collection containing approximately 1,000 items. The focus of the collection is on local/regional and campus maps, but there are maps of many parts of the Appalachian region, too. We are in the process of creating individual, publicly accessible records for all of our maps. In the interim, you can view a partial listing of these records for maps (about 3/4 of the total collection) covering parts of local/regional areas and the Appalachian South online. You can view a complete list of maps in our collection, organized geographically, on our website.

A wide variety of the maps have been digitized and are available online through Imagebase. See "Digitized Materials" in the box above.