Special Collections and University Archives Resources for APS1704: Appalachian Literature & Art (about fiction, non-fiction, journals, & printing)

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

• ALCA-lines: Newsletter of the Assembly on the Literature and Culture of Appalachia, v.4, no. 1. Call Number: PS 537 A42 Spec Large
• Encyclopedia of Appalachia, 2006. Call Number: F 106 E53 2006 Spec Large
• Kirk, Stephen. Scribblers: Stalking the Authors of Appalachia, c2004. Call Number: PS 266 N8 K57 2004 Spec Small
• Satterwhite, Emily. Dear Appalachia: Readers, Identity, and Popular Fiction Since 1878, c.2011. Call Number: PS 286 A6 S28 2011 Spec Large
• Vande Brake, Katherine. How They Shine: Melungeon Characters in the Fiction of Appalachia, 2001. Call Number: PS 286 A6 V36 2001 Spec Large

• Lucy Dickinson Urquhart Papers, 1865-1973 (Ms1987-046). Finding aid available online.
• Lucy Herndon Crockett Papers, 1940-2015, n.d. (Ms2011-032). Finding aid available online.
• Marvin H. Neel Papers, 1933-1988 (Ms2016-022). Finding aid available online. 
• Mary Sinton Leitch Correspondence with J. J. Lankes, 1932-1950 (Ms2017-001). Finding aid available online. 
• Sherwood Anderson Collection, 1912-1938 (Ms1973-002). Finding aid available online. 
• Sherwood Anderson Correspondence with Llewellyn Jones, 1916-1924, n.d. (Ms2015-044). Finding aid available online. Digitized collection available online. 
• Sherwood Anderson Photograph and Postcard, 1929, 1939 (Ms2011-004). Finding aid available online.
• Welford D. Taylor Collection on Sherwood Anderson, 1918-2006, n.d. (Ms2015-020). Finding aid available online.

• Tell It on the Mountains: Appalachian Women Writers, 1995 [sound recording]. Call Number: Cassette 536. Please note: Special Collections does have equipment to listen to this audio recording.