Special Collections and University Archives Resources for APS1704: Food & Foodways (incl. traditional medicine, farming, & agriculture)

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

• Best, Billy F. Saving Seeds, Preserving Taste: Heirloom Seed Savers in Appalachia, 2013. Call Number SB 118.38 B47 20013 Spec Large
• Crellin, J. K. Trying to Give Ease: Tommie Bass and the Story of Herbal Medicine, 1997. Call Number: RS 164 B324 C74 1997 Spec Large
• Dabney, Joseph. Smokehouse Ham, Spoon Bread & Scuppernong Wine: The Folklore and Art of Southern Appalachian Cooking, c1998. Call Number: TX 715.2 S68 D43 1998 Spec Large (2 copies)
• Encyclopedia of Appalachia, 2006. Call Number: F 106 E53 2006 Spec Large
• The Foxfire Book of Appalachian Cookery, 1992. Call Number: TX 715 F826 1992 Spec Large
• Foxfire's Book of Wood Stove Cookery, c2006. Call Number: TX 715 F827 2006 Spec Small
• A Foxfire Christmas, 1996. Call Number: GT 4986 A77 F68 1996 Spec Large
• Gabbard, Alex. Return to Thunder Road: The Story Behind the Legend, 1992. Call Number: HJ 5021A127 G3 1992 Spec Large
• Marriott, Norman G. Meat Carving, 2000. Call Number: LD 5655 A762 no.458-002 Spec VPI
• Savor the South Cookbook series from the University of North Carolina Press. A complete list of items in Special Collections from this series is available online.
• Skeens, Betty. Grazing Along the Crooked Road: Recipes and Stories--Past and Present, c2008. Call Number: TX 715 S575 2008 Spec Large

• Chapman J. French Papers 1903-1957 (Ms2009-034). Finding aid available online. Includes information on home brewing.
• Earl Palmer Appalachian Photograph and Artifact Collection 1880-1989 (Ms1989-025). Finding aid available online. Many photographs from the collection have been digitized and are available online.
• Johnson Farm Historic Resources Study Report, 1990 (Ms1990-061). Short description available online. 
• "National Diary" Recipe Book, [1914?] (Ms2009-051). Finding aid available online. Includes information on home brewing generally.
• Rural Retreat (Virginia) Percheron Co-Operative Breeding Association Ledger, 1939-1944 (Ms2013-042). Finding aid available online. 
• Willis E. Franklin Patent, 1872 (Ms1967-001). Finding aid available online. Relates to bee-keeping.
• United States Bureau of Internal Revenue Distillery Forms, 1902-1913 (Ms2008-095). Finding aid available online. 

• Digitized History of Food & Drink materials from Special Collections
• History of Food & Drink Resources at Special Collections (and Beyond) (LibGuide)
• Gastropod (podcast)
• Gravy (podcast)

• Photographs from the Historical Photograph Collection (List of Subjects), 1890s-present.
  • A small portion of this collection, relating to Appalachia generally, is available online.
  • A small portion of the collection relating to agriculture at Virginia Tech is available online.
  • A small portion of the collection relating to agriculture, including in Appalachia, is available online.
  • Photographs are organized in folders by topic, a list of which is available in the finding aid. All materials can be viewed by visiting Special Collections when we are open.