Special Collections and University Archives Resources for APS1704: Craft, Home, & Fiber Arts

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 9am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
X: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

• Eaton, Allen H. Handicrafts of the Southern Highlands; with an Account of the Rural Handicraft Movement in the United States and Suggestions for the Wider Use of Handicrafts in Adult Education and Recreation, 1937. Call Number: NK 814 E2 1937 Spec Large
• Encyclopedia of Appalachia, 2006. Call Number: F 106 E53 2006 Spec Large
• Hough, Walter. An Early West Virginia Pottery, 1899? Call Number: NK 4025 W37 H6 Spec Large
• Metzger, Arthur. Annotated Bibliography of Articles on Light Weight Ceramics, 1956. Call number: LD 5655 A3 B8 v.49 no. 8 Spec VPI
• Movers & Makers: Doris Ulmann's Portrait of the Craft Revival in Appalachia, 200?. Call Number: NK 8812 M58 Spec Large
• Rosemont, Marion, Virginia, c1951. Call Number: F 234 M373 R6 1951 Spec Small
• Wiltshire, William E. Folk Pottery of the Shenandoah Valley, 1975. Call number: TP 799 V8 W54 Spec Large and Newman 5th floor

• Appalachian Quilt Project Cassette Tapes, 1978-1979 (Ms1981-097). Finding aid available online. 
• Dorothy McCombs Collection, 1970-1989 (Ms1995-006). Finding aid available online. Includes information on textiles.
• Earl Palmer Appalachian Photograph and Artifact Collection 1880-1989 (Ms1989-025). Finding aid available online. Many photographs from the collection have been digitized and are available online.
• Martha L. Johnson Family Papers 1821-1882 (Ms2001-065). Finding aid available online.
• Rosemont Corporation Ledgers, 1939-1960 (Ms1987-029). Finding aid available online. 
• Virginia Association of Family and Consumer Sciences Records 1922-2002 (Ms2008-032). Finding aid available online.