Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and University Archives Resources for APS1704: Artifacts & Art in Special Collections and University Archives

Resources for APS1704 at Virginia Tech Special Collections and online through Virginia Tech and other institutions.

About Special Collections and University Archives

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

Art Works

Although Special Collections and University Archives is not a museum and we don't generally collect art, we do have more than 350 paintings, drawings, framed photographs, and other items related to our collecting areas or to existing manuscript collections. This includes works relating to aspects of Appalachian culture and history.  Most of these art works are related to the American Civil War, women in architecture and design, and local history. In addition, some are connected to university history through provenance or artist. We are working on descriptive records for items in our art collection which you can browse and search within online. If you have trouble locating items or have questions, we encourage you to contact Special Collections and University Archives (specref@vt.edu or 540-231-6308) or visit us (Mon-Fri from 8am-5pm) and we will be happy to work with you. 

Artifacts

Although Special Collections and University Archives does not generally collect 3-D objects and artifacts, we do have a two manuscript collections that contain Appalachian related artifacts. You can also learn about artifacts in our holdings more generally through the RLCL/HUM5204 LibGuide