Skip to main content

Special Collections Resources for APS1704: Home

Resources for APS1704 at Virginia Tech Special Collections and online through Virginia Tech and other institutions.

About Special Collections

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

About the Guide

This guide is designed to help students in APS1704 locate resources in Special Collections relating to Appalachia generally, as well as about specific topics. There are also links to collections and resources (analog and digital) available online and from other cultural heritage institutions. We will continue to add new resources, pages, and topics over time.

The guide is broken up into several sections. "Materials by Format" contains help in using tools available (catalogs, finding aids, databases, etc) to locate primary and secondary sources by format. This includes books, manuscripts, oral histories, photographs and other photographic formats, digital collections, and art and artifacts. "Materials by Topic" contains lists of resources (primarily in Special Collections) relating to broad topics within Appalachian Studies. "Additional Guides & Search Tools" consists of resources for locating primary and secondary sources at other cultural heritage institutions. 

Women cooking apple butter

Women cooking apple butter, Earl Palmer Appalachian Photograph and Artifact Collection (Ms1989-025)