Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and University Archives Resources for APS1704: Locating Materials by Format

Resources for APS1704 at Virginia Tech Special Collections and online through Virginia Tech and other institutions.

About the "Locating Materials by Format" pages

This section contains two major parts. The first part, "Books & Manuscripts in Special Collections and University Archives," includes directions and tips for location book and manuscript resources in Special Collections and University Archives that relate to aspects of Appalachian studies and history. The other parts offer suggested collections, organized by format, that may be of interest to students and scholars researching aspects of Appalachia. These are not complete lists and we encourage researchers to use the tools available (the library catalog, findings aids, and thesauri, for example) to dig through our holdings. Please note: This guide includes suggested, representative readings and collections reflecting some of the materials in Special Collections and University Archives--we have extensive local and regional holdings on specific topics, places, and themes.

If you need assistance finding resources, as there is no one search tool, check out the sections on "Materials by Format" for advice on how to use search our tools. Look at the "Additional Guides & Search Tools" to identify materials located at other cultural heritage institutions. You can always contact Special Collections (specref@vt.edu or 540-231-6308 or come by when we're open (M-F 8am-5pm)). 

About Special Collections and University Archives

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

Brush Mountain School

Brush Mountain School (taken 1987), used as a school in 1947, Dale Belcher Photographs (Ms1997-021)