Special Collections and University Archives Resources for APS1704: Environment, Environmental Issues, & Geography (incl. coal & mining)

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

• The American Coal Miner: A Report on Community and Living Conditions in the Coalfields, 1980. Call Number: HD 8039 M615 U55 1980 Spec Large
• Anxiety and Safety: Two Studies of the Kentucky Coal Miner, 1986. Call Number: HD 8039 M62 U6122 1986 Spec Large
• Burke, William. The Mineral Springs of Western Virginia; with Remark on Their Use, and the Diseases to Which They are Applicable..., 1846. Call Number: RA 807 V7 B9 Spec Small
• Burnett, Nancy Svet. Slovenes in Rural Appalachia: An Oral History, 1994. Call Number: E 184 S65 B87 1994 Spec Large
• Encyclopedia of Appalachia, 2006. Call Number: F 106 E53 2006 Spec Large
• Foner, Phillip. Coal Creek Rebellion: East Tennessee Miners vs. Convict-Labor System, 1973. Call Numer HD 8039 M62 U625 1973 Spec Large
• Frazier, Jack. West Virginia Green. Part I, 1976. Call Number: HC 107 W5 F7 1976 Spec Large
• Harlan and Bell Kentucky, 1931-2: As Reported at the Time in the Labor Defender, 1972. Call Number: HD 6515 M615 K46 1972 Spec Large
• Harlan Miners Speak: Report on Terrorism in the Kentucky Coal Fields, c.1932. Call Number: HD 8039 M62 U6465 Spec Large. Also 1970 edition Call Number: HD 8039 M62 U6465 1970 Newman 3rd floor
• Harman, Frank P. A Review of the Pocahontas Strike and Its Cause from the Operators' Standpoint, 1895. Call Number: HD 5325 M6152 1895, P63 Spec Large
• McGehee, Stuart. A Century of Stewardship: The History of the Pocahontas Land Corporation, 2001. Call Number: HD 242.3 M33 2001 Spec Large
• Moorman, J. J. The Virginia Springs, and Springs of the South and West, 1859. Call Number: RA 807 V7 M86 Spec Small
• Morris, Homer. The Plight of the Bituminous Coal Miner, 1934. Call Number: HD 8039 M62 U6445 1934 Spec Large and Newman 3rd floor
• Mütter, Thomas D. The Salt Sulphur Springs, Monroe County, Virginia, 1840. Call Number: RA 807 V8 S3 Spec Small
• Pollard, Edward A. The Virginia Tourist: Sketches of the Springs and Mountains of Virginia..., 1870. Call Number F231 P77 Spec Large. Also available online.
• Proco, Garland. Merrimac Mines: A Personal History, 1994. Call Number: F 232 M7 P76 1994 Spec Large and Newman 3rd floor
• Study of Strip and Surface Mining in Appalachia; An Interim Report of the Appalachian Regional Commission, 1966. Call Number: TN 291 U48 1966 Spec Large
• Surface, G. T. The Negro Mine Laborer: Central Appalachian Coal Field, 1909? Call Number: HD 8039 M62 U6688 1909 Spec Large
• Tindall, P. B. Observations on the Mineral Waters of Western Virginia, 1858. Call Number: RA 807 V7 T5 Spec Small
• The West Virginia Miners Union, 1931. Call Number: HD 6515 M616 W45 1972 Spec Large

• Appalachian Student Organizing Committee Collection, 1964-1975 (RG31/14/10). Finding aid available online. 
• Byllesby Dam, Carroll County, VA (Ms2009-095). Finding aid and one image available online. 
• Earl Palmer Appalachian Photograph and Artifact Collection 1880-1989 (Ms1989-025). Finding aid available online. Many photographs from the collection have been digitized and are available online.
• Ivanhoe, Virginia, Moonshine Still Glass Plate, c.1932 (Ms2009-028). Finding aid and and images available online. 
• Map of 1937 Merrimac Community, 1996 (Ms1996-012). Permission to photocopy or reproduce the Map of 1937 Merrimac County must come from the Virginia Tech Appalachian Studies Program. Contact Special Collections for more information.
• New Jersey Zinc Corporation [Austinville, Virginia] Records, 1850-1969 (Ms1991-032). Inventory available online. 
• New Jersey Zinc Corporation (Austinville, VA) Records II, 1925-1969 (Ms2011-037). Finding aid available online. 
• Pocahontas Mines Collection (Ms2004-002). Inventory of the collection is not currently available online. Contact Special Collection for more information. 

• Photographs from the Historical Photograph Collection (List of Subjects), 1890s-present.
  • A small portion of this collection, relating to Appalachia generally, is available online.
  • A small portion of the collection relating to local history, including Appalachia, is available online.
  • Photographs are organized in folders by topic, a list of which is available in the finding aid. All materials can be viewed by visiting Special Collections when we are open. 
• Photographs from the Named/Individual Photograph Collections, 1890s-present. Several 
  • Photographs are organized in folders by creator/collector a list of which is available in the finding aid. All materials can be viewed by visiting Special Collections when we are open.