Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and University Archives Resources for APS1704: Suggested Materials by Topic

Resources for APS1704 at Virginia Tech Special Collections and online through Virginia Tech and other institutions.

About the "Suggested Materials by Topic" section

The selected topics in this section have been created as they have come up for this and other APS, HUM, or RLCL courses with Appalachian content. The topics listed are covered broadly and you will be able to locate additional resources by searching on your own or with assistance from Special Collections and University Archives. Resources may appear on more than one page, as topics can often overlap. You can also browse/search a list of more than 500 manuscripts which relate to local history and the Appalachian South. Please note: This guide includes suggested, representative readings and collections reflecting some of the materials in Special Collections and University Archives--we have extensive local and regional holdings on specific topics, places, and themes. 

We recommend you search the catalog or the finding aid database or contact Special Collections and University Archives for help in locating these materials. If you need assistance finding resources, check out the sections on "Materials by Format" for advice on how to search our tools. Look at the "Additional Guides & Search Tools" to identify materials located at other cultural heritage institutions. You can always contact Special Collections and University Archives (specref@vt.edu or 540-231-6308 or visit us Mon-Fri from 8am-5pm). We can help you find materials and hopefully include them here for future use. 

About Special Collections and University Archives

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

Bookmobile

Bookmobile, Earl Palmer Appalachian Photograph and Artifact Collection (Ms1989-025)