Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Virginia Tech History Resources: College of Natural Resources & Environment

This guide details resources intended to help those doing research on the history of Virginia Tech, including the use of Special Collections and University Archives, University Libraries, and related resources.

Researching the College of Natural Resources & Environment (CNRE)

Here are resources for the College of Natural Resources & Environment (CNRE) and related items. In addition to the below items, the University Archives holds unprocessed records of CNRE. Please contact Special Collections and University Archives for more information.

General Resources

Record groups may include posters, flyers, photos, organizational records, and more. Materials are divided into assigned Record Groups based on the office, division, or unit and designated by the prefix, RG. For example, materials relating to CNRE are designated RG 45/x, while the Department of Geography is designated both RG 45/10 and RG 15/10 (prior to 2003, when it was housed in the College of Arts & Sciences).

About the College of Natural Resources & Environment (CNRE)

By the 1930s, Virginia Polytechnic Institute offered its first programs in forestry and wildlife. The Virginia Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit began in 1935, and three years later the Department of Biology started offering the first B.S. in conservation and forestry. In 1959, the Department of Forestry and Wildlife was founded in the College of Agriculture. In 1974, the Department split into the departments of Forestry and Forest Products and of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences. A year later, the School of Forestry and Wildlife Resources was created within the College of Agriculture. By 1992, the College of Forestry and Wildlife Resources was established, offering majors and minors to students, although it was not fully phased in until 1994. In 2000, the college changed its name to the College of Natural Resources, and in 2010, it became the College of Natural Resources and Environment.

Online Histories and Exhibits

CNRE Collections

CNRE Collections

Here are several SCUA collections related to the College of Natural Resources and Environment. This is not a comprehensive list of all our related collections. To find more, please search within our collections on Virginia Heritage.

CNRE Publications

About Special Collections and University Archives

Hours
Monday-Friday
8am-5pm

Information for Visitors

Contact
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Staff Directory

SCUA Online
Website
Digital Collections
Blog | Culinary Blog
SCUA Research Guides

Land & Labor Acknowledgement

We thank the American Indian & Indigenous Community Center for providing this statement:

Virginia Tech acknowledges that we live and work on the Tutelo / Monacan People’s homeland and we recognize their continued relationships with their lands and waterways. We further acknowledge that legislation and practices like the Morrill Act (1862) enabled the commonwealth of Virginia to finance and found Virginia Tech through the forced removal of Native Nations from their lands, both locally and in western territories.

We understand that honoring Native Peoples without explicit material commitments falls short of our institutional responsibilities. Through sustained, transparent, and meaningful engagement with the Tutelo / Monacan Peoples, and other Native Nations, we commit to changing the trajectory of Virginia Tech's history by increasing Indigenous student, staff, and faculty recruitment and retention, diversifying course offerings, and meeting the growing needs of all Virginia tribes and supporting their sovereignty.

We must also recognize that enslaved Black people generated revenue and resources used to establish Virginia Tech and were prohibited from attending until 1953. Through InclusiveVT, the institutional and individual commitment to Ut Prosim (that I may serve) in the spirit of community, diversity, and excellence, we commit to advancing a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive community.