Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Virginia Tech History Resources: Inclusion, Diversity, & Communities

This guide details resources intended to help those doing research on the history of Virginia Tech, including the use of Special Collections and University Archives, University Libraries, and related resources.

Researching Inclusion, Diversity, & Communities at Virginia Tech

The resources presented here represent many of the communities which have developed at Virginia Tech and related groups in the New River Valley. They also document efforts of some people and organizations to increase inclusion and diversity at the university as well as some efforts against this work.

Additional Research Guides

Some resources related to these communities and efforts are identified on the IndividualsOrganizations, and Online Exhibits & Digital Materials pages. Information related to Solitude and Smithfield, including the formerly enslaved people such as the Fraction family, are on the Facilities, Campus, & Buildings page. Resources on the Administration subpages contain official records of administrators and offices that may document official decisions related to the development of these communities and inclusion and diversity efforts.

There are also other research guides that have useful resources related to this topic.

Record Groups

Record groups may include posters, flyers, photos, organizational records, and more. Materials are divided into assigned Record Groups based on the organization or group and designated by the prefix, RG. Official student, staff, and faculty organizations, some of which include communities at Virginia Tech, are identified as RG 30/x and RG 31/x. Materials labeled RG 8/x include official university departments in Student Affairs, such as the Cultural and Community Centers (CCC) as RG 8/16, Black Greek Council as  RG 8/2/6d, and issues concerning people of color, such as inclusion efforts, protests against bigotry, and incidents of racism, as  RG 8/2/8c.

Manuscript Collections

Manuscript collections include faculty and staff papers, oral histories, the records of local community organizations, and more.

Publications

Publications include works available online from SCUA or VTechWorks or physically in the University Libraries.

Online Histories and Exhibits

Additional Resources

About Special Collections and University Archives

Hours
Monday-Friday
8am-5pm

Information for Visitors

Contact
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Staff Directory

SCUA Online
Website
Digital Collections
Blog | Culinary Blog
SCUA Research Guides

Land & Labor Acknowledgement

We thank the American Indian & Indigenous Community Center for providing this statement:

Virginia Tech acknowledges that we live and work on the Tutelo / Monacan People’s homeland and we recognize their continued relationships with their lands and waterways. We further acknowledge that legislation and practices like the Morrill Act (1862) enabled the commonwealth of Virginia to finance and found Virginia Tech through the forced removal of Native Nations from their lands, both locally and in western territories.

We understand that honoring Native Peoples without explicit material commitments falls short of our institutional responsibilities. Through sustained, transparent, and meaningful engagement with the Tutelo / Monacan Peoples, and other Native Nations, we commit to changing the trajectory of Virginia Tech's history by increasing Indigenous student, staff, and faculty recruitment and retention, diversifying course offerings, and meeting the growing needs of all Virginia tribes and supporting their sovereignty.

We must also recognize that enslaved Black people generated revenue and resources used to establish Virginia Tech and were prohibited from attending until 1953. Through InclusiveVT, the institutional and individual commitment to Ut Prosim (that I may serve) in the spirit of community, diversity, and excellence, we commit to advancing a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive community.