Research Guides: Virginia Tech History Resources: Individuals

Researching Individuals at the University

Virginia Tech Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA) has multiple avenues to find information about people associated with the university.

See also the Academics and Administration subpages of this guide for people working in specific academic or administrative units.

General and Online Resources

List of Faculty Collections Held by Special Collections and University Archives
This is a list of collections belonging to individual faculty members, staff, and administrators at Virginia Tech. You can search the list for specific individuals by name.
Collections held by Special Collections and University Archives
This list includes collections held by Special Collections and University Archives. You can search the list for specific students, staff, faculty, and alumni, as well as departments and organizations.
Oral History @ VT: Oral History Collections
The Oral History Collections page on the Oral History @ VT research guide contains information about collections held by Special Collections and University Archives. Many of these collections relate to the history of Virginia Tech and individuals associated with the university and New River Valley.
Warren Strother Collection, Ms2004-005
Collection contains official correspondence between Dr. T. Marshall Hahn and various Virginia Polytechnic Institute departments, 319 oral history interviews on cassette tapes, and 48 transcribed interviews. These materials focus on Dr. Hahn’s administration of VPI and were used to create a book entitled From VPI to State University: President T. Marshall Hahn, Jr. and the Transformation of Virginia Tech, 1962-1974 written by Warren Strother and Peter Wallenstein. Interviewees include Virginia Tech faculty, staff, administrators, alumni, and university supporters.
Electronic Theses & Dissertations (ETDs) Research Guide
The ETD Guide includes information on how to find both online and print copies of theses and dissertations from Virginia Tech.
ImageBase
ImageBase is a database of photographs and other visual items digitized by SCUA. There are images of many individuals associated with the university.
Black History at Virginia Tech digital collection
This digital collection from SCUA Online documents the history of Black people and organizations at Virginia Tech. It contains digital versions of SCUA collection materials and is categorized by topic, including athletics, Black organizations, Board of Visitors, Events, Issues, People, and more. This material is also used as part of the Black History at VT Timeline.

Collections

Biographical Vertical Files
In general, vertical files at Special Collections and University Archives include newspaper clippings, photocopies, ephemera, unpublished and/or informal publications, and other papers relating to a specific subject area. Files in this collection relate to individuals and families connected to the local area (Blacksburg, Montgomery County, and Southwest Virginia) and/or to Virginia Tech.

more... less...

Biographical Vertical Files are arranged alphabetically by individual's last name or by family name. Some individuals/families have a dedicated folder. Others may be found in the appropriate alphabetical folder (i.e. "Smyth" would be found in the "Smo-Smy" folder).
Record Group Vertical Files
Record Group Vertical Files contain printed material divided by university department and office. If you know the unit an individual worked or studied in, you could look at the record group for that department. Each college has a record group for individual faculty that has material on individuals.

more... less...

The Record Group Vertical Files contain newspaper clippings, pamphlets, brochures, posters, flyers, and more related to departments, schools, colleges, and administrative offices in the university, including press releases, courses, buildings, public events, and more.
Virginia Tech and Local History Mounted Clippings
Printed material in this collection are organized by subject, dated from the 1870s thru 1960s. There are sections on individuals, marriages, war service, academia, athletics, and more. If you know the unit an individual worked or studied in, you could look thru that unit in case they are included.

more... less...

In general, mounted clippings at Special Collections and University Archives include newspaper clippings, photocopies, ephemera, unpublished and/or informal publications, and other papers relating to a specific subject area. Files in this collection relate to Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and the activities of members of the community or university. The mounted clippings were kept by the University Libraries thru the 1960s. The Record Group Vertical Files were begun around that time to specifically organize the materials related to the university.
RG 29, Alumni Association Records in the University Archives
Special Collections and University Archives holds official records for the Alumni Association, which includes information of alumni, alumnae, and chapters. Additionally, SCUA holds alumni cards for World War I and for students organized by class, major, and surname.

The Record Group list includes the major overview of the University Archives' Record Groups. This includes official records, newspaper clippings, and printed material. There are two versions, a spreadsheet for sorting and filtering and a document that includes a page per RG number.

The records are divided into assigned Record Groups designated by the prefix, RG. For example, materials relating to the Alumni Association are identified as RG 29/x.
World War II Alumni Association Cards, RG 29d
Alumni cards for students who fought in WWII, including biographical information.
Virginia Tech Alumni Association Alumni Cards, RG 29e
Alumni cards kept by the Alumni Association for students of Virginia Tech, through about the 1980s. Cards are organized by class year, major, and surname, and may include both alums and students who did not graduate. Some cards also include biographical information, such as family members and military service.
Biographical Cards
Special Collections and University Archives has biographical cards for faculty, mostly associated with the university thru the 1960s, and for former students, primarily attending thru the 1920s. These are arranged alphabetically, and some include references to other resources in SCUA.
Talking About Work Oral History Interview Project, Ms2012-005
Oral history interviews conducted by students of Dr. Emily Satterwhite's HUM 2504 Introduction to American Studies class with interviewees who work on or near the Virginia Tech campus. Interviews explore the particular jobs of the interviewees and the issues related to working for these interviewees. The collection also contains annotated bibliographies and reflections papers created by students about their interview experience. There are images of some of the interviewees.

more... less...

Individuals include dinging services and residence hall staff, the deputy commandant, professors, bookstore and police personnel, and numerous other individuals from Virginia Tech and the local community.

Directories

SCUA has directories listing students, staff, faculty, university officials, alumni, and departments from 1891 through the present, but lists of students, employees, and alumni can be found in the university catalogs starting in 1872.

Below are the catalog records for all the directories and registers that we have. Copies of most directories are kept in the Reading Room, and patrons can easily look through them as they need.

Alumni directories

Employee and departmental directories

Employees and departments can also be found in the University Directories and University Catalog.

Departmental and staff directory, 1966/1967
Staff include faculty and administration
Directory of Virginia Tech faculty expertise, 1974-1990
Faculty environmental register, 1981
Directory of new faculty, 1989
Temporary faculty/staff telephone directory, 1989
Directory of Administrators and New Faculty, Ms2005-004
The collection was originally housed in and apparently used by the Office of the President, while James D. McComas was president of Virginia Tech from 1988-1993. Collection consists of one-page vitas and photographs of administrators and new faculty in 1988 at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, representing the Pamplin College of Business, the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine, and the Colleges of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, Arts and Sciences, Education, Engineering, and Human Resources. It also includes the Cooperative Extension and Continuing Education and numerous Vice President offices.

Student directories

Students can also be found in the University Directories and University Catalogs.

University directories

University Directories, 1926/1927 - 1963
All directories include faculty, staff, and university officials, but only some include students. Newman Library contains copies that can be checked out.
University Directories, 1935 - 1965/1966
Includes students, staff, faculty, departments, and university officials
University directory, 1947/1948 - 1955/1956
These directories were published by Omicron Delta Kappa, so there is some information about ODK, its history, and its membership/leadership.
University directories, 1966/1967 - present
All directories include faculty, staff, university officials, departments, and buildings, but students are only included in 1982/1983 thru 2013/2014.
International directory, 1993
Virginia Tech's international directory for economic development : a listing of international students, faculty, and overseas alumni

Degrees conferred

Degrees conferred and enrollment data, 1965/1966 - 1988/1989
Special Collections and University Archives has many years of these reports, and Newman Library has several years available to check out.
Annual commencement programs, 1924-present
These programs list lists of degree recipients at commencement ceremonies, but are tentative and may not include all graduates.
University Catalogs
Special Collections and University Archives has every issue of the catalog of the university from its founding in 1872. The catalog included information about the university and the administrators; the schools, colleges, and departments; degrees and courses offered; and sometimes information about students and degrees conferred. The catalog was initially published as part of the university bulletin, then published on its own, and finally split into separate undergraduate and graduate catalogs.
University Catalog PDFs (Archived)
Digitized copies of the university catalog from 1872 thru 1877, undergraduate catalog from 2004-2005 thru 2010-2011, and graduate catalog from 2001-2003 and 2005 (on Archive-It.org).

Special Collections and University Archives has digitized most catalogs. Please contact us at specref@vt.edu for more information.
University Bulletins
Special Collections and University Archives holds issues of the university bulletin from its first issue in 1908 thru 1988. The bulletin includes catalogs for the university, information about degrees conferred, information for transfer students, alumni information, presidential reports, and more. Early issues also included bulletins about research in engineering, agriculture, Extension, and other areas.

Publications

University Catalogs
Special Collections and University Archives has every issue of the catalog of the university from its founding in 1872. In addition to information about the university and courses, some catalogs include information about administrators, registered students, and degrees conferred.
University Catalog PDFs (Archived)
Digitized copies of the university catalog from 1872 thru 1877, undergraduate catalog from 2004-2005 thru 2010-2011, and graduate catalog from 2001-2003 and 2005 (on Archive-It.org).

Special Collections and University Archives has digitized most catalogs. Please contact us at specref@vt.edu for more information.
University Bulletins
Special Collections and University Archives holds issues of the university bulletin from its first issue in 1908 thru 1988. The bulletin includes catalogs for the university, information about degrees conferred, information for transfer students, alumni information, presidential reports, and more. Early issues also included bulletins about research in engineering, agriculture, Extension, and other areas.
Virginia Tech Magazine
Special Collections and University Archives holds most issues of Virginia Tech Magazine from its first issue in 1978 thru the present. The magazine was known as The Virginia Tech from 1987 thru 1996. Includes articles and photographs about the university as well as brief announcements regarding births, marriages, births, adoptions, and deaths of alumni, students, and employees.
Virginia Tech Magazine online
Official website of the Virginia Tech Magazine with digital issues from 1990 to the present.
The Bugle yearbook
Special Collections and University Archives has every Bugle yearbook from 1895 (the first year published) in our collections.
The Bugle PDFs
Digitized copies of the university's yearbook, The Bugle, starting in 1895 in PDF format from Special Collections and University Archives on VTechWorks.
The Tin Horn
Special Collections and University Archives has every edition of the Tin Horn, dated 1925, 1929, 1930, and 1931. Female students began attending the university full-time in 1920, but they were not included in the Bugle yearbook regularly until 1940. Because they were not included, the female students published their own yearbook, the Tin Horn, in 1925, 1929, 1930, and 1931.
The Tin Horn PDFs
Digitized copies of the Tin Horn in PDF format from Special Collections and University Archives on VTechWorks. The Tin Horn was a yearbook published by women students in 1925, 1929, 1930, and 1931.
50th Reunion Bugles, also called Bugle Updates
The Reunion Bugles or Bugle Updates are published by the VT Alumni Association for the 50th anniversary of each class. Special Collections and University Archives and Newman Library have copies for the 50th Reunion of Classes 1934 thru 1948.

Virginia Tech History Resources

About Special Collections and University Archives

Virginia Tech's Land Acknowledgement & Labor Recognition

Researching Individuals at the University

Collections

Directories

Degrees conferred

Publications