Research Guides: Virginia Tech History Resources: Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine (Vet Med)

About the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine (Vet Med)

About the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine (Vet Med)

After decades of efforts by various factions to establish a School of Veterinary Medicine in Virginia, the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine finally became a reality in 1980. A dean had been appointed in 1974, using the departments of Veterinary Science at Virginia Tech and the University of Maryland as home bases. In 1978, the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia approved a plan to establish a regional college to offer a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree. The agreement was officially ratified by the Virginia and Maryland Governors in 1980.

About the Virginia Tech - Wake Forest University School of Biomedical Engineering and Sciences (VT-WFU SBES)

Formed in 2003, the Virginia Tech - Wake Forest University School of Biomedical Engineering and Sciences (VT-WFU SBES) is an interdisciplinary graduate program combining the resources of the Wake Forest School of Medicine, the College of Engineering at Virginia Tech, and the VA-MD Regional College of Veterinary Medicine.

Online Histories & Exhibits

"Instruction, Degrees, and Commencements" on the Virginia Tech History website
This website contains a thorough history of several facets of the university's history, including information on the colleges and schools, deans, degrees awarded, commencement speakers, and more.

Vet Med Collections

Record groups may include posters, flyers, photos, organizational records, and more. Materials are divided into assigned Record Groups based on the office, division, or unit and designated by the prefix, RG. For example, materials relating to Vet Med are designated RG 20/x, related materials in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences are identified as RG 13/x, and the Virginia Tech - Wake Forest University School of Biomedical Engineering and Sciences (VT-WFU SBES) is RG 49/x.

Record Groups in the University Archives
This list includes the major overview of the University Archives' Record Groups. Record Groups are the official records of the university held by Special Collections and University Archives. This includes official records, newspaper clippings, and printed material. There are two versions, a spreadsheet for sorting and filtering and a document that includes a page per RG number.
Record Group Vertical Files
The Record Group Vertical Files contain newspaper clippings, pamphlets, brochures, posters, flyers, and more related to departments, schools, colleges, and administrative offices in the university, including press releases, courses, buildings, public events, and more.
Directory of Administrators and New Faculty, Ms2005-004
The collection was originally housed in and apparently used by the Office of the President, while James D. McComas was president of Virginia Tech from 1988-1993. Collection consists of one-page vitas and photographs of administrators and new faculty in 1988 at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, representing the Pamplin College of Business, the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine, and the Colleges of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, Arts and Sciences, Education, Engineering, and Human Resources. It also includes the Cooperative Extension and Continuing Education and numerous Vice President offices.
Richard B. Talbot Papers, Ms1995-024
Dr. Richard B. Talbot was the first dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine and a professor of Biomedical Sciences and Veterinary Medical Informatics at Virginia Tech. The collection consists primarily of speeches, speech resource and research materials, administrative notes, departmental program planning and budgeting materials.

Additional Resources

Vet Med publications on VTechWorks
Vet Med publications held by the University Libraries
Vet Med website
"Statement on Need of a College of Veterinary Medicine in Virginia" by Dr. T. Marshall Hahn, Jr. (Archived)
Transcription of statement from T. Marshall Hahn's presidential records (RG 2/11) on the need of a College of Veterinary Medicine, written October 15, 1973. This is from an archived version of the 1997 Special Collections website.