Research Guides: Virginia Tech History Resources: Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine &amp; Research Institute

About Virginia Tech Carilion (VTC)

Collectively called Virginia Tech Carilion (VTC), the Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine and Research Institute was announced in January 2007 as a public-private partnership between Virginia Tech and Carilion Clinic in Roanoke, Virginia. The Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine (VTCSOM) was established in 2010 and became an official college of the university on July 1, 2018. The Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute (VTCRI) opened on September 1, 2010, and in December 2018, the institute was renamed the Fralin Biomedical Research Institute.

General resources

Record groups may include posters, flyers, photos, organizational records, and more. Materials are divided into assigned Record Groups based on the office, division, or unit and designated by the prefix, RG. For example, materials relating to VTC are identified as RG 46/x.

Record Groups in the University Archives
This list includes the major overview of the University Archives' Record Groups. Record Groups are the official records of the university held by Special Collections and University Archives. This includes official records, newspaper clippings, and printed material. There are two versions, a spreadsheet for sorting and filtering and a document that includes a page per RG number.
Record Group Vertical Files
The Record Group Vertical Files contain newspaper clippings, pamphlets, brochures, posters, flyers, and more related to departments, schools, colleges, and administrative offices in the university, including press releases, courses, buildings, public events, and more.
"Instruction, Degrees, and Commencements" on the Virginia Tech History website
This website contains a thorough history of several facets of the university's history, including information on the colleges and schools, deans, degrees awarded, commencement speakers, and more.

VTC Resources

VTC Collections

Here are SCUA collections related to Virginia Tech Carilion, including the School of Medicine and Fralin Biomedical Research Institute. This is not a comprehensive list of all our related collections. To find more, please search within our collections on Archival Resources of the Virginias.

Records of the Office of the Dean of Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine, Cynda Ann Johnson, RG 46/1/1
This collection contains office files from Cynda Ann Johnson, the founding dean of the Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine (VTCSOM). This collection includes office information, travel information, the School of Medicine's class information, reports and magazines, plaques, and personal papers, cards, and correspondence.

Additional Resources

Virginia Tech Carilion (VTC) Publications on VTechWorks
Includes publications from Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC and Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine (VTCSOM)
VTC website
VTCSOM website
VTC Fralin Biomedical Research Institute