Research Guides: Virginia Tech History Resources: Corps of Cadets

Research the Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets (VTCC)

These are good introductory (yet thorough) histories of the Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets (VTCC). The University Archives maintains many official records, photographs, artifacts, uniforms, and publications of the VTCC and alumni. The Corps maintains collections in the VTCC Museum, and each unit of the Corps also has a historian who maintains the unit's history.

General Resources

The Bugle's Echo : a chronology of cadet life at the Military College at Blacksburg, Virginia, The Virginia Agricultural and Mechanical College and The Virginia Polytechnic Institute by Temple, Harry Downing
Call Number: LD5655.T46 1996

Six volume history of the university, with special attention to the Corps of Cadets, from 1872 thru 1934. Some originals related to the history are in Harry Temple's collection. Special Collections and University Archives and Newman Library have several copies.

"Corps of Cadets" on the Virginia Tech History website
An overview of the history of the Corps, including different units, positions, traditions, and more.
Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets website
Official website of the Corps, which includes current information and documentation as well as a history.
VTCC Museum website
The VTCC Museum began in 1985, when then-Commandant Lt. Gen. Howard M. Lane asked Col. Joseph Reich ’75, then a captain and an Air Force ROTC detachment instructor, to start a Corps museum. Today it is a diverse collection of Corps memorabilia: old uniforms and historical artifacts donated by alumni over the years.

Collections

The University Archives maintains archival records, photographs, and artifacts related to the VTCC and individual students, staff, faculty, and alumni with connections to the Corps. Some of these items are not described online, but are available for use. Please contact Special Collections and University Archives for more information.

General collections

The official records of the university are divided into assigned Record Groups designated by the prefix, RG. For example, materials relating to the Corps of Cadets are identified as RG 8/4/x, and the War Memorial Chapel, which includes the Pylons, Cenotaph, and War Memorial Court, is designated RG 6/3/9.

Record Groups in the University Archives
This list includes the major overview of the University Archives' Record Groups. Record Groups are the official records of the university held by Special Collections and University Archives. This includes official records, newspaper clippings, and printed material. There are two versions, a spreadsheet for sorting and filtering and a document that includes a page per RG number.
Record Group Vertical Files
The Record Group Vertical Files contain newspaper clippings, pamphlets, brochures, posters, flyers, and more related to departments, schools, colleges, and administrative offices in the university, including press releases, courses, buildings, public events, and more.
Named/Individual Photograph Collections
The Named/Individual Photograph Collections include images from alumni and former faculty and staff, or individuals with ties to campus and the New River Valley. Many photos related to the university also relate to the Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets.
Historical Photograph Collection
The photograph collection at Special Collections and University Archives consists primarily of historical photographs of Virginia Tech, including the Corps of Cadets, dating back to the 1890s. The collection is also home to historic images of Blacksburg, Montgomery County, the New River Valley, and Southwest Virginia in general.

Collections of Individuals or Organizations

Harry Downing Temple, Jr., Papers, Ms1988-039
The Harry Downing Temple, Jr., Papers contains materials related to Temple's personal life, interest in heraldry and insignia, and his research and publications on the Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets, including the Bugle's Echo. Materials date from about 1872 to 2004.
Dewitt Clinton Wolfe, Jr. Scrapbooks, Ms2013-001
Two scrapbooks of photographs and ephemera compiled by DeWitt Clinton Wolfe, Jr., a member of the cadet corps and graduate of Virginia Polytechnic Institute, class of 1921. The photographs document Wolfe's experiences as a student in the Cadet Corps from about 1919 to 1921, including sporting events, camping excursions, "rat parades" and as a trumpet player in the Cadet Corps band. Clippings and pamphlets document various university events.
Corps of Cadets [Virginia Agricultural and Mechanical College] Duty Roster, Ms1996-025
This collection contains the morning report of the post of Virginia Agricultural and Mechanical College, in Blacksburg, Virginia, from March 10 to 16, 1890
Adam T. Finch Collection, Ms1974-015
Adam Tyree Finch graduated with the Class of 1893. Finch returned to VPI in 1898 to teach Military Science and Tactics. Finch also served as Commandant of Cadets and Assistant Professor of Physiology and Materia Medica before leaving VPI in Spring of 1900. Collection includes scrapbook pages containing photos and materials from Adam Finch's time as a cadet and VPI. Also included is a letter of recommendation from President Barringer and a letter written by Finch about an alumni reunion.
James H. Lane Papers, Ms1952-001
Collection contains Lane family letters, a copy of James H. Lane's commission as commandant of cadets at the Virginia Agricultural and Mechanical College, and a list of rules for the cadets at VAMC.
Joseph F. Ware Collection, Ms2010-022
Joseph Fulton Ware served as Commandant to the VPI Corps of Cadets and professor of Military Science and Tactics from 1911 to 1914. After his tenure at VPI, Ware received a Second Lieutenant of Infantry commission in the Regular United States Army during World War I. The collection contains 102 letters from Joseph F. Ware to his wife, Susie, in Blacksburg, Virginia, while he was serving overseas during and after World War I. The other significant portion of this collection contains nearly 200 photographs.
Records of War Memorial Chapel, RG 6/3/9
The Records of War Memorial Chapel contain architectural records, posters, photographs, and prints pertaining to Virginia Tech's War Memorial Chapel - including the Memorial Court, pylons, and cenotaph - and its construction in the 1950s and early 1960s. There are also a few pamphlets detailing the dedication and commemoration of the chapel, as well as records from the chapel after it was opened.

Publications

The Bugle's Echo : a chronology of cadet life at the Military College at Blacksburg, Virginia, The Virginia Agricultural and Mechanical College and The Virginia Polytechnic Institute by Temple, Harry Downing
Call Number: LD5655.T46 1996

Six volume history of the university, with special attention to the Corps of Cadets, from 1872 thru 1934. Some originals related to the history are in Harry Temple's collection. Special Collections and University Archives and Newman Library have several copies.
Guidon
Call Number: LD5655.V8 Y58

Publication Date: 1912/1913-onward

The Guidon is the student-handbook of the VT Corps of Cadets, which started out as the university student handbook before becoming directed specifically at the Corps.
Corps review
Call Number: LD5655.A51 C6 C67

Publication Date: 1992-present

Newsletter from the VT Corps of Cadets and VTCC alumni association, held by Special Collections and University Archives
The Quad-Angle
Call Number: LD5655.V8 C614

Publication Date: 1970-1991

Newsletter from the VTCC; Special Collections and University Archives holds an incomplete run
Cadet manual
Call Number: LD5655.A3 C324

Publication Date: 1964/1965-1979

Annual cadet manual from VTCC; Special Collections and University Archives holds an incomplete run

Publications related to the VTCC Cadet Honor System

Digital Collections and Exhibits

Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets Museum
The Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets Museum has digitized many items from its collection. Currently, the Museum is located in Newman Library.
Uniforms of Cadets of the Virginia Agricultural and Mechanical College and the Virginia Polytechnic Institute (Archived)
The images presented here are from the original watercolor illustrations created by Floyd Richard Vranian for the book Donning the Blue and Gray: A Pictorial History of the Virginia Agricultural and Mechanical College and the Virginia Polytechnic Institute by Harry D. Temple. (Some links may be broken as this website is archived on Archive-It.org and dates to 1996.)

more... less...

The physical copy of Donning the Blue and Gray is available from Special Collections' Rare Books Collection and Newman Library under the call number LD5655.T39 1992.
V.P.I. in the Spanish American War (Archived)
This is an article by Harry Temple about Virginia Tech and the Spanish War with photos of Army badges, flags, and colors. (Some links may be broken as this is archived on Archive-It.org and dates to 1997.)
VPI in World War One Project
This project is dedicated to exploring and documenting the lives of Virginia Tech's World War I veterans and, through them, understanding VPI's role in that international conflict. Throughout World War I over 1,000 Virginia Tech alumni and students served the United States military in some capacity and this project, a collaboration between the Virginia Tech History Department and Virginia Tech University Libraries is a database dedicated to them.