Virginia Tech History Resources: Pamplin College of Business
Researching the Pamplin College of Business
Here are resources for the Pamplin College of Business (often shortened just to Pamplin), its schools, its programs, and its departments, as well as its predecessors, such as School of Applied Science and Business Administration.
General Resources
Record groups may include posters, flyers, photos, organizational records, and more. Materials are divided into assigned Record Groups based on the office, division, or unit and designated by the prefix, RG. For example, materials relating to Pamplin are designated RG 16/x, while the School of Applied Science and Business Administration [obsolete, 1962] are identified as RG 12. The Program in Real Estate is both RG 14/11 and RG 16/16, while Hotel, Restaurant, and Institution Management (HRIM) is both RG 19/9 and RG 16/15.
- Record Groups in the University ArchivesThis list includes the major overview of the University Archives' Record Groups. Record Groups are the official records of the university held by Special Collections and University Archives. This includes official records, newspaper clippings, and printed material. There are two versions, a spreadsheet for sorting and filtering and a document that includes a page per RG number.
- Record Group Vertical FilesThe Record Group Vertical Files contain newspaper clippings, pamphlets, brochures, posters, flyers, and more related to departments, schools, colleges, and administrative offices in the university, including press releases, courses, buildings, public events, and more.
- Directory of Administrators and New Faculty, Ms2005-004The collection was originally housed in and apparently used by the Office of the President, while James D. McComas was president of Virginia Tech from 1988-1993. Collection consists of one-page vitas and photographs of administrators and new faculty in 1988 at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, representing the Pamplin College of Business, the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine, and the Colleges of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, Arts and Sciences, Education, Engineering, and Human Resources. It also includes the Cooperative Extension and Continuing Education and numerous Vice President offices.
About the Pamplin College of Business
Courses in business have been offered since 1881, and the Department of Business Administration was established in 1924. The School of Applied Science and Business Administration formed in 1950 out of the Department. In 1960, the School dissolved, and several departments moved to the School of Business, established the same year and renamed the College of Business in 1964. The college was renamed Pamplin College of Business for two alumni, Robert B. Pamplin and his son, Robert B. Pamplin Jr., in 1986.
General Histories
- "Instruction, Degrees, and Commencements" on the Virginia Tech History websiteThis website contains a thorough history of several facets of the university's history, including information on the colleges and schools, deans, degrees awarded, commencement speakers, and more.
Pamplin Collections
Pamplin Collections
Here are several SCUA collections related to the Pamplin College of Business. This is not a comprehensive list of all our related collections. To find more, please search within our collections on Archival Resources of the Virginias.
- Henry J. Dekker Papers, Ms2012-055Henry J. Dekker served on the board of visitors from 1989 to 1997, and was rector from 1996 to 1997. He was also a longtime member of the Pamplin Advisory Council. The collection consists of papers relating to Henry Dekker's tenure as rector of Board of Visitors, service on Pamplin Advisory Council, interest in Pamplin College of Business, and the history of Virginia Tech.
- Virginia Tech LGBTQ Oral History Collection, Ms2015-007This collection includes an interview with Howard Feiertag, a professor of hospitality and tourism management in the Pamplin College of Business since 1989.
Pamplin Publications
- Pamplin publicationsIncludes materials from Pamplin, its departments, and its programs, including newsletters, brochures, handbooks, etc.
About Special Collections and University Archives
Hours
Monday-Friday
8am-5pm
Contact
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Staff Directory
SCUA Online
Website
Digital Collections
Blog | Culinary Blog
SCUA Research Guides
Land & Labor Acknowledgement
We thank the American Indian & Indigenous Community Center for providing this statement:
Virginia Tech acknowledges that we live and work on the Tutelo / Monacan People’s homeland and we recognize their continued relationships with their lands and waterways. We further acknowledge that legislation and practices like the Morrill Act (1862) enabled the commonwealth of Virginia to finance and found Virginia Tech through the forced removal of Native Nations from their lands, both locally and in western territories.
We understand that honoring Native Peoples without explicit material commitments falls short of our institutional responsibilities. Through sustained, transparent, and meaningful engagement with the Tutelo / Monacan Peoples, and other Native Nations, we commit to changing the trajectory of Virginia Tech's history by increasing Indigenous student, staff, and faculty recruitment and retention, diversifying course offerings, and meeting the growing needs of all Virginia tribes and supporting their sovereignty.
We must also recognize that enslaved Black people generated revenue and resources used to establish Virginia Tech and were prohibited from attending until 1953. Through InclusiveVT, the institutional and individual commitment to Ut Prosim (that I may serve) in the spirit of community, diversity, and excellence, we commit to advancing a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive community.